A town that could be placed in a museum
Close to the Gileppe Dam and the Hertogenwald, Limbourg offers itself up to the curiosity of visitors through its layout as a former stronghold. This town in the countryside has retained all of its charm of days gone by and a remarkable architectural heritage.
Arriving at the Place Saint-Georges, now listed as a major Walloon heritage site, you allow yourself to be bewitched by the 18th century atmosphere, the picturesque alleyways and its square covered with stones from the Vesdre.
In addition, the 15th century Gothic-style Saint- Georges Church (currently being restored), adds to the interest of the walk that stretches along the ramparts and offers magnifi cent views onto the Vesdre valley, the Herve plateau and the villages of Bilstain, Dolhain, Goé and Hévremont. The Saint-Lambert Church of the village of Goé is also made remarkable for its 12th century Romanesque baptismal font and its coloured stain-glass windows.
The former Town Hall, called “Arvô”, is open to tourists and presents a historic hall on the ground floor and a model of Limbourg in 1632 as well as superb exhibitions of plastic arts (from May to September) on the first floor.
The town of Limbourg is also its well-restored houses that are abundantly decorated with flowers and its marked and laid out walks, which enable visitors to discover the neighbouring hamlets.
It is a unique town to be visited without delay!